Main menu


The Taliban announces new ministerial appointments amid the absence of women's names

On Tuesday, Taliban spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid announced the names of the remaining members of the recently formed government, amid international criticism that expressed resentment, due to the exclusion of women and the lack of representation of all spectrums of Afghan society.

According to the Sky News website, Mujahid presented a list of ministers who will occupy a number of portfolios, while the Taliban movement seeks international recognition, especially since the country is in need of international aid, in light of the significant deterioration of the humanitarian situation.

The Taliban movement came to power last August, taking advantage of the rapid collapse of the central government, after the withdrawal of US forces from the country.

Zabihullah Mujahid did not mention the Ministry of Women in the government, while observers recently monitored the transfer of its headquarters in the capital, Kabul, to the Ministry of "Promoting Virtue".

The government appointments announced on Tuesday were as follows:

Noureddin Azizi (from Panjshir) as Acting Minister of Commerce.

Qalandar Abbad, Acting Minister of Public Health.

Muhammad Bashir and Muhammad Azim Sultanzadeh, two deputies to the Minister of Commerce.

Abdel Bari Omar and Mohamed Hassan Ghayasi, deputy ministers of public health.

Mullah Muhammad Ibrahim, Deputy Minister of Interior.

Mullah Abdul Qayyum Zakir, Deputy Minister of Defense.

Mujib Rahman Omar, Deputy Minister of Energy and Water.

Ghulam Ghass, Deputy Minister of Disaster Management.

Gul Muhammad and Gul Zarin Kochi as Deputy Minister of Borders and Tribes.

Arsal Khorouti, Deputy Minister of Refugees.

Lotfullah Khairkhah, Deputy Minister of Higher Education.